Trollbeads Design Challenge: Day 28

IMG_5985

How can it be day 28 already?!

IMG_5987The time on this challenge has truly flown by, and just like last year, I feel as though I have so many colour combinations and designs yet to try.  It’s time to dig deep, and make sure that I throw out a few more preconceptions about “how to troll” before the end of our exercise.  I gave some thought to which “rules” I have continued to hold dear

IMG_5986 through the past month and realized that there are still a few walls to break down.

First I realized that I still tend to create groupings of three, five seven and so on.  The old rule about arranging flowers still holds true for me when composing bracelets, and I should really explore even numbers as well.  So today you’ll see a bracelet with lots of pairs of beads – which is sure to be a good thing from a Feng Shui point of view!  Second, I still load up on glass and use the silvers to divide groupings of glass.  So today I tried to use the silvers intelligently as an equal partner with the glass, and I am pleased with the result.

IMG_5984Finally, I realized that I had never placed this juicy red bead on a design this challenge, so I decided to build the entire bracelet around it.  The white pattern on the glass suggests a red and white bracelet, but I find that it’s a little too “major holiday” for me to wear.  By placing it among honey golds and warm chestnut browns it settles the red and gives an overall rich feel.  Much more wearable for me!  It’s the perfect bracelet to add lots of silver as well – the silver is neutral and calming for these saturated colours.

IMG_5983

Only two days to go… what’s at the bottom of your bead bowl?  Time to dust off those hard-to-use beads and give them a design of their own….

C.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trollbeads Design Challenge: Day 28

  1. LOL, I seem to have all the same rules you do! One exception is my first and favorite bracelet, which I cannot bear to take apart. I call it “Pirate’s Booty”, and it is blacks, silvers, ambers, rusts, and ivories. Zanzibar, Trollcoin, Wild Armadillo, Milan, Wildcat, Glowing Pansy, and Jugend all make appearances as well as a much-loved $8 Ebay oldie I call “Casper the Ghost” who guards the treasure!

Leave a comment